Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:30 p.m. - 2001-10-18
Responsi-motherfuckin'-bility
The dream is over.

No, not that dream. The dream where I get to work only three days a week and earn the same take home pay as I did at my last full time job.

Wah, wah! Time to be responsible again.

So I have to find a job. Luckily there are many positions for mid-level carpenters open in the Bay Area. Unluckily, I don't wanna be a fucking mid-level carpenter anymore.

Like I said, Wah, Wah.

Oh well, to look on the bright side, I just had a month of unemployment that included the luxury of not having any of the stress, guilt and oppression that usually come with being unemployed.

So it's time to star looking in the want-adds. I was thinking I might like to find a job as a building super. That way I can have my rent paid and keep my visible income low so that I can qualify for some free money to go back to school next year.

Fuck this. I'm going to spend the rest of today enjoying my last stress free hours before I really have to start thinking about this shit.

Jane is moving her office home. That means we will soon have access to a Mac G4, a PowerBook G3, a scanner, printer, CD burner, DVD, and some other shit that I am probably not going to be allowed to touch.

Woo hoo, I guess that means I'll be able to revamp this little machine and get rid of windows 95. Many people have told me that running windows 95 is the cause of my constant need for the ol' "Ctrl-Alt-Del" combination that I have become so familiar with. A lot of people have also told me that Mac's are superior machines to the PC, but I have noticed that all these people are current Mac owners and seem to talk of many a crash themselves, so I don't know if it is true knowledge, a weird cult mentality, or the misery loves company theory that drives them to be so zealous in their brand affiliation.

We are also going to invest in DSL. Again, I think this is good, but I know that Janey has DSL at work and it seems to be down or running slow an awful lot.

Anyway, this is probably going to be one of the last mid afternoon entries on a Thursday that I write for a while. At least working again will put me in contact with some real people who I can secretly make fun of in these pages. I made the mistake of telling everyone I know about this journal and that has cut down considerably on my shit talking opportunities. My soon to be ex-business partner has started a journal somewhere in diaryland, but he won't tell me his username, so I suspect there is plenty of complaining about how I'm always right and steal all the glory with my incredible talents. Or something.

Anyway, I'm off to eat a sammich in my underwear and watch some day time T.V. before these opportunities dry up and blow away. I guess summer vacation's over. Poop.

"�on the big rock candy mountain,
You never change your socks,
And the little streams of al-key-hol come a tricklin' down the rocks,
There ain't no short handled shovels,
No axes or no picks,

Oh I wanna go-where there ain't no snow,
Where they hung the jerk-who invented work,
on the big rock candy mountain�

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!