Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:59 p.m. - 2001-11-14
All that rippin' probably gives you carpel tunnel anyway
If anyone were to pay attention to the crap I write, they would have noticed that I claimed to have given in to the pressure the whole world seems to be putting on me to return to being a carpenter, and had given up my high falutin' idea's of no longer being a beast of burden. I alluded to this many times over the last few months, but apparently I'm a god damn liar.

Well here I go again. I'm returning to a field position once more. The truth is, I like being a carpenter for the most part, it is just that I don't really want to be an employee very much longer if I can help it.

I'm a good little employee though. I show up on time, do quality work, keep my co-workers entertained with lies and silly voices and whatnot. But as much as I actually like the field work, and am certain that it would take me no time at all to miss it once confined to a deskal area, it just ain't conducive to learning the binniss end of running a construction company. I can build the shit out of something, but I can't make you pay me for it.

Since I like working for free even less than working for a salary, that is a imbalance that I would like to rectify before I shove out on my own to face the wide world under my own steam.

I'm not even so sure that if I was going to run my own business, that residential remodel would be the area I'd choose, but hey, that is what will pay me right now. The average two bedroom in SF goes for over $2000 a month so jumping ship completely and starting at the bottom of some other ladder ain't going to cut it.

There go my dreams of being the guy who rips tickets in two at the movie theater. But when I retire, boy, I'll be rippin' up a storm.

"enjoy the show�enjoy the show�enjoy the show�."

I am a little concerned that jumping right back into the rut I just climbed out of will be�for lack of a better word, shitty. I'm not so sure that it wouldn't be in my best interest to reach for the stars, and try to live my dreams now before life deals me a bunch more responsibilities. Maybe I should throw caution to the wind and get my hoody sweatshirt, sneakers, ghetto blaster and hat, take the ol' MUNI bus right down to Fisherman's Wharf and breakdance for the tourists. I already have a pretty breakdancey name in Heckafresh, and lord knows nobody can match my moves, unless they bit 'em from me. I was known to have the best back spin in my whole class back in fifth grade. And I won't even go into my worm, ask somebody, that shit was def.

I don't know though, there are so many limiting factors, not the least of which is that I don't own a big square of linolium.

Spaceman takes too much school. Pirate won't work because I'm allergic to feathers. I found out condom testing doesn't happen the way I thought, so to hell with that one. They won't hire me as an office boy because I'm only half joking when I call a computer a "typer T.V"�

So here's the list as it stands:

1.Cinema Ticket Ripper
2.Breakdancer @ Fisherman's Wharf
3.Spaceman
4.Pirate
5.Condom Tester
5.'puter Genius
6. Carpenter

Shit.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!