Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 p.m. - 2002-08-29
guide me, faceless motherfucks!
Here is an easy way to create a dramatic moral dilemma for yourself: give a fuck a little bit.

The crew I worked with today consisted of the lead that has the English speaking skills and experience, and the helper who doesn�t, but does all of the work.

The latter is exploiting the former in a blatant way, and aside from the fact that it is fucked up; it also makes me wonder what I should do. It is hardly my business that the helper is getting paid about half of what he should, but I am going to need helpers when my training period is over and this guy is golden. I would not only double his salary and show him proper respect, but I would gain a lot by having him on as part on my crew.

The thing is, stealing other people�s workers is frowned upon, and even if my main purpose is that I don�t like seeing people being taken advantage of just because they can be, it goes against my morals to do it.

So that leaves me wondering. I�m not obliged to do anything, and minding my own business is a good excuse for being a pussy, but I feel like I should at least let this guy know that he can do better.

The other part of it is, I don�t really have anything against the lead except that he is a cheap bastard. He is nice aside from that, and he taught me a lot. Screwing him out of his help isn�t really the best way to repay the favor. Is it?

But paying a guy what he is worth and getting good help seems like a decent thing.

I don�t know. I really don�t.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!